Monthly Archives: December 2009

Dave Knapik’s American Buttermilk Pancakes

Batter Ingredients:

300g plain flour
1 level teaspoon baking powder
2 pinches of salt
240ml buttermilk
150ml cold water
6 large eggs, beaten

Extra Ingredients to finish the pancakes:

100g butter – for the frying pan
M&M’s, Reese’s Pieces or chocolate chips – to put inside the pancakes
Maple syrup and a bit of butter – to put atop the pancakes when finished cooking (but before eating)

Making the batter:

1. Sieve the flour, baking powder and salt together in a large mixing bowl and make a hollow in the centre.
2. In a separate bowl, whisk the buttermilk and water together.
3. Slowly mix this liquid into the mixing bowl.
4 Add the beaten eggs a little at a time until you have a smooth batter.

Making the pancakes:

1. Heat the frying pan with a small piece of butter in the centre. Allow this to melt and spread over the pan.
2. Get the buttered pan quite hot (you should be able to flick a bit of water on it and have it sizzle). Then, drop a healthy scoop of batter (approximately 3 tablespoon or so) into the frying pan. You could use less batter and make several small pancakes in the same pan, but you’ll create a far more formidable pancake monster if you use the entire pan for one pancake at a time.
3. Cook until nicely golden brown on the bottom. This shouldn’t take more than a minute. Once the batter starts to bubble up around the edges, it’s time to add the extra ingredients.
4. Drop in your M&M’s, Reese’s Pieces or chocolate chips. Use enough to so that each bit of the pancake has equal coverage. Add a tiny bit more batter to cover the sweets you just added.
5. Gently turn the pancake with a spatula or large wooden spoon and cook for about another 45 seconds. It may spill and drip around a bit, but don’t worry: all great pancakes have their imperfections.
6. Serve immediately with butter and maple syrup on top.

Ash 8.6 | Stephan Mathieu – 10 Minutes

9x .m4v videos, digital download for iPod/iPhone

Track listing:
I. Crepuscule
light, curtain, wind
audio: Amelita Galli-Curci sings Massenet
78rpm from 1921
II. Screen
16mm projector, b/w flicker, projection
audio: Stephan Mathieu
III. Eye
light, reflection
audio: Stephan Mathieu plays Sylvain Chauveau (excerpt)
IV. Sonnenschatten
light, mobile, shade
audio: Heinrich Isaac
78rpm from von 1928
V. Licht
kitchen cabinet, sunlight reflection
audio: (silent)
VI. Hoch
garden, picnic gramophone, 78rpm record with bird song
audio: unknown throssle
captured on 78rpm shellac in 1932
VII. Sonne
light, mobile
audio: Stephan Mathieu, text by Yoko Ono
VIII. Two Dots
empty turntable
audio: François Couperin, “Le Carillion de Chitere” 78rpm from 1934
IX. Code
16mm projector, b/w flicker, puzzled webcam
audio: Stephan Mathieu (from “Process”)
“Nine webcam movies for handheld devices shot with my laptop’s camera between September and October 2009. The soundtrack is basically what was playing then. 10 Minutes is dedicated to Anna Carolina Mikalef.”
Buy 10 Minutes in the TouchShop

LCO perform Biosphere | Roundhouse, London, 23rd January 2010

On 23rd January 2010, the London Contemporary Orchestra, one of the UK’s youngest and most adventurous ensembles, make their Roundhouse debut. “Shhoctavoski” is the first piece for orchestra that Biosphere, aka Geir Jenssen has composed and is given here its UK premiere with the Roundhouse Experimental Choir.
The same evening sees London Contemporary Orchestra also perform the world premiere of Shiva Feshareki’s “TTKonzert” (a concerto for turntables and orchestra), alongside performances of Steve Reich’s “Different Trains” and the UK premiere of John Cage’s “Seventy-Four”.
These performances are part of the Roundhouse’s Reverb series, which “explores the many sides of music at the Roundhouse through world and UK premieres, genre-defying performances, fresh collaborations and a new approach to classical music.”
More info and tickets at

Hildur Gudnadottir | Without Sinking wins Kraumur Award in Iceland

Hildur Guðnadóttir’s “Without Sinking” wins the Kraumur award in Iceland. It is also in The Wire’s Top 50 of 2009… This chart is compiled by all the staff and contributors at The Wire. Stephen O’Malley voted it his album of the year for Boomkat.
Below – a video for “Opaque” from “Without Sinking”, directed by Markus Wambsganss.

Hildur Guðnadóttir in the TouchShop

Touch Radio 46 | Ken Montgomery

10.12.09 – 1/f Noise | Smoothing Out The Press – 59:55 – 151 kbps [VBR]
1/f Noise – While teaching sound art in Cincinnati Ohio’s art school DAAP, Montgomery organized sonic tours of the Ceramics Department. The audience was blindfolded and led one by one down 8 flights of stairs into a series of listening stations where ventilators, burning kilns and other machinery were in use (2008).
Smoothing Out The Press was composed using the Sound of Sanding from the Crest Hardware Show plus recordings made at Ben Owen’s Middle Press in Brooklyn while printing the Ministry of Lamination’s Almost Blank Notebook letterpress edition (2007).
Subscribe to the TouchPod podcast of TouchRadio via the iTunes Music Store
Play “1/f Noise | Smoothing Out The Press”

Atmospheres 3 | review by Mapsadasical

Mapsadasical has published a review of Monday’s Atmospheres 3 event at Café Oto: “Touch’s series of Atmospheres events, of which this is the third installment, has an increasingly loosely-framed agenda to explore the sounds of the natural world. In previous years they have set up camp in the Museum of Garden History in Lambeth, with its fine old trees and historic garden. The move across town to Dalston, with its fine old, er, well, lets just say that the move across town to Dalston has added a different dimension to that theme. At least one of the evening’s performers was to pick up on that more urban aspect during the evening, although the quality of the sets from all three of Lawrence English, BJ Nilsen and Philip Jeck was – naturally – of the highest order.”
Read the full review at

Tone 40 – Oren Ambarchi “Intermission 2000-2008”

CD in Digipak
Artwork & design: Jon Wozencroft

Track listing:
1. Intimidator
2. Iron Waves
3. Moving Violation
4. The Strouhal Number
5. A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks
Intermission brings together a range of material Oren Ambarchi has contributed to compilations and limited edition vinyl releases between the years 2000 and 2008. Highlights include two live recordings – an early, fragile solo guitar recording taken from a radio broadcast in 2000 and A Final Kiss On Poisoned Cheeks, his powerful 12″ recorded live in Vancouver in 2007 and originally released on Table Of The Elements. Additional tracks include Iron Waves an exclusive track in collaboration with vocalist Paul Duncan and Intimidator featuring Australian pianist/composer Anthony Pateras originally released on Southern Lord.
These are special anomalies in the Ambarchi canon but nonetheless feature the hallmarks of his unique soundworld, all underpinned by his trademark deep guitar tones and meticulous attention to detail. All tracks are newly remastered, many of which are available on CD for first time.
Buy Intermission 2000-2008 in the TouchShop

Continue reading