Jon Wozencroft

FOLIO 002 – Various Artists/Jon Wozencroft ‘Touch Movements’

76pp full colour book + CD
33 tracks – 78:59

Limited edition of 1000

Release date: 11th December 2017

Track listing:

‘Into the Open’
Mika Vainio – ‘Behind the Radiators’
AER – ‘Just Before Dawn’
Bethan Kellough – ‘Twelve’
Wire – ‘A Year A Second’ [For BCG]
‘London in a Week’
Carl Michael Von Hausswolff – ‘Sine Missing One’
Chris Watson – ‘Deepcar’
Jana Winderen – ‘Bronx Tunnel’
‘The Magical Land of the North’
Claire M Singer – ‘Storr’
Hildur Gudnadottir – ‘Death 200AD’
Three 20 – ‘Four Twelve’
Philip Jeck – ‘Deed of Gift’
‘Walking on Water’
Simon Scott – ‘Storm of the Fens’
Eleh – ‘Overt One’
‘The Love Train’
Russell Haswell – ‘Demons’
Heitor Alvelos – ‘Expectant’
‘I’m a Schoolteacher on Holiday’
Johann Johannsson – ‘Mingyun’
Mark Van Hoen – ‘Prescient’
Fennesz – ‘Paint It Black’ (remastered)
Sohrab – ‘JV Dream’
‘It’s Enough to Make You Weep’
Strafe FR – ‘Virgin’
‘Before The Sea’ @ ‘Falasarna’
Jim O’Rourke – ‘Despite The Water Supply’
Situation Stabilised / BJ Nilsen – ‘Atom Mother’
Peter Rehberg – ‘Cinecom’
‘Gateway to the Garden’
Oren Ambarchi – ‘Testify’
‘The Sound of Eleven’

In a 24/7 world there is no greater challenge than ‘to be in command of one’s own time’. Is it true that the ability to download anything, at any moment, constitutes freedom? Has the ‘value’ of music, art and design been stripped bare? ‘I Google, therefore I am’…

Touch MOVEMENTS has been compiled over the course of 3 years. It is a response to many requests for Touch to publish a fuller account of Jon Wozencroft’s photography for the cover art of the project. The book follows the music, which was compiled step-by-step, like a jigsaw – there was not an ‘open call’ to the artists, rather a sequential development which gives the CD a special narrative quality. And since our last Touch 30 compilation in 2012, the accuracy of the music has grown and rises to the challenge of what sound can do to transform perceptions about the immediate emotion of musical work and its more difficult, longer term evolution.

Following Touch Folio 001 in 2015, this series is a dedication to finding new ways of audio-visual publishing, somewhere between the twin peaks of a jewel-cased CD and a lavish box-set. The two elements of sound and the visual work in parallel to create the idea of an ‘Ear-book’, whose interdependency reveals itself over time, and allows the richest of listening and viewing experiences. The music and the photography is fully annotated, alongside a rarely-seen manifesto by the Surrealist film-maker Jan Švankmajer which celebrates the spirit of the creative act.

David Sylvian writes: “‘Movements’ celebrates the continuity of a carefully nurtured and sustained audio/visual aesthetic which, via its publication, could be seen as affirmative action in uncertain times. Thank heavens the likes of Touch still have the gall to propel beautiful things out into the world.”

TS30 – Jon Wozencroft “Touch.30”

“Touch.30” T-Shirt, designed by Jon Wozencroft.

Printed on a black Fruit of the Loom Super Premium T-Shirt.
Position of logo and type: Center Chest, 10cm wide.

Sizes available: S / M / L / XL / XXL

TO:68DS – Jon Wozencroft A3 print / Rosy Parlane – “Willow”

A3 print + digital download

A3 print
Features an image (depicted to the right) by Jon Wozencroft, output onto high quality heavyweight matte paper.

Digital download
320 kpbs MP3, available only when purchasing the Willow print…
Rosy Parlane – “Willow” 4:29
Written and recorded in Auckland, NZ Jan-Mar 2008

Spire 1 – Jon Wozencroft A3 print / The Spire Ensemble – “Organology”

A3 print + digital download

A3 print
Features an image (depicted to the right) by Jon Wozencroft, output onto high quality heavyweight matte paper.

Digital download
320 kpbs MP3, available only when purchasing the Spire print…
The Spire Ensemble – “Organology” 14:14

Recorded at Norheimsund Church, Norway during the Hardingtonar Festival, 21st June 2008. [2008 was the centenary of the birth of Geirr Tveitt, whose work was celebrated at this festival.]

Featured artists: Marcus Davidson – Grand Piano | Mike Harding – Conductor | Philip Jeck – Casio SK1 Keyboard | Charles Matthews – Organ BJNilsen – Electronics | Jana Winderen – Electronics

TO:15 – Jon Wozencroft “Touch & Fuse”


The Aftershock of the Invisible
Produced by Touch, Faculdade De Belas-Artes, and Orange Communication Ltd. in London and Porto.
Digital scans and film origination by Orange Communication Ltd.
Impressão: Arcanjo Ribeiro – Porto, Portugal
Edição da Faculdade de Belas Artes da Universidade do Porto
Depósito Legal 136162/99

© 1999 Jon Wozencroft